Welcome to this website

The School of Information Science and Technology of Northwest University was established in May 2005, which was integrated from the former Department of Computer Science and Department of Electronic Science as the main body. Among them, the Department of Computer Science and Technology was established in 1971 and the Department of Computer Science was founded in 1981; the Department of Semiconductor Physics and Devices and Radio Electronics was established in 1958 and the Department of Electronic Science was founded in 1992.

There are four departments, one teaching unit and one center: Department of Computer Science and Technology, Department of Software Engineering, Department of Electronic Science and Technology, Department of Information and Communication Engineering, Department of Basic Teaching, and Experimental Teaching Center. There are 188 faculty members, 149 full-time teachers, 98 professors and associate professors. Among them, there are 3 scholars in the National Overseas High-Level Talents Introduction Program, 1 national teaching master, 1 teaching master in the "Ten Thousand People Plan" of the Ministry of Organization, 1 supported by "Excellent Youth" fund, 1 new century outstanding talent of the Ministry of Education, 3 teaching masters of Shaanxi Province, 1 "Shaanxi Young and Middle-aged Science and Technology Innovation Leaders", 3 "Young Science and Technology Rising Stars" of Shaanxi Province. There is one national teaching team and two national experimental teaching demonstration centers. There are 14 scientific research institutions including "National Local Joint Engineering Research Center for Cultural Heritage Digitization" and 3 provincial innovation teams. There are more than 3,400 doctoral students, master students and undergraduate students in school. It has four first-level disciplines: Software Engineering, Computer Science and Technology, Information and Communication Engineering, and Electronic Science and Technology, among which Software Engineering has received a "B+" rating in the fourth round of discipline evaluation. It has two post-doctoral research stations in Computer Science and Technology and Software Engineering, two first-level doctoral degree authorization points in Computer Science and Technology and Software Engineering, four first-level master's degree authorization points in Computer Science and Technology, Software Engineering, Electronic Science and Technology, and Information and Communication Engineering, two master’s degree fields in Electronics and Communication Engineering and Software Engineering, nine undergraduate programs in Computer Science and Technology, Software Engineering, Electronic Information Engineering, Electronic Information Science and Technology, Electronic Science and Technology, Communication Engineering, Internet of Things engineering, Microelectronics Science and Engineering, Intelligent Science and Technology, and one Sino-British Joint Program in Electronic Information Science and Technology.

The Department of Information Technology is a key discipline of the national "211 Project". In recent years, it has undertaken many scientific research projects such as National "973", "863", National Natural Science Foundation of China, etc. It has won more than 30 national and provincial awards, such as the Second Prize of National Science and Technology Progress, and the related achievements have been reported by BBC, The Times, CCTV, Science and Technology Expo, Into Science, Guangming Daily and Shaanxi Dailyandmany other news media. It has undertaken a number of national and provincial teaching research projects; won three national teaching achievement second-class awards; published more than 30 textbooks, including five national planning textbooks; built two national high-quality resource sharing courses, one national bilingual course, and seven provincial high-quality resource sharing courses.